Finnish Research Infrastructure Committee

The Finnish Research Infrastructure Committee (FIRI Committee) at the Academy of Finland monitors and develops Finnish and international research infrastructure activity, provides funding to infrastructure projects and monitors funded projects. The Committee also takes care of other infrastructure tasks as assigned to it by the Academy Board.

  • Chair: Vice President for Research Riitta Maijala, Academy of Finland
  • Vice Chair: Director Erja Heikkinen, Ministry of Education and Culture


  • President and CEO Johanna Buchert, Natural Resources Institute Finland
  • Director General Anni Huhtala, VATT Institute for Economic Research
  • Professor Juha Hämäläinen, Research Council for Culture and Society, Academy of Finland
  • Rector Keijo Hämäläinen, University of Jyväskylä
  • Ministerial Adviser Pirjo Kutinlahti, Ministry of Employment and the Economy
  • Director Mika Lautanala, Business Finland
  • Rector Jukka Mönkkönen, University of Eastern Finland
  • Rector Ilkka Niemelä, Aalto University
  • Rector Riitta Rissanen, Lapland University of Applied Sciences
  • Professor Mika Rämet, Research Council for Biosciences, Health and the Environment, Academy of Finland
  • Vice rector Hanna Snellman, University of Helsinki
  • Professor Minnamari Vippola, Research Council for Natural Sciences and Engineering, Academy of Finland
  • Rector Mari Walls, Tampere university

Counsellor of Education Petteri Kauppinen from the Ministry of Education and Culture is a permanent expert on the Committee.

Read more about research infrastructures

Do you have questions or feedback for us?