CoE Programme 2008–2013

Centres of Excellence 2008–2013

The Centre of Excellence Programme for 2008‒2013 contained 18 centres. At its meeting on 7 December 2010, the General Subcommittee of the Academy of Finland decided on the continued funding of the 2008–2013 CoE programme. The total funding amounted to 30,340,000 euros. All 18 units received continued funding. See more in the list of funding decisions. Select ‘programme activities’ under ‘division’.

The Academy’s funding contribution for the 2008–2010 period was 26 million euros, while Nokia contributed 150,000 euros and KCL 414,000 euros.

  • Eva-Mari Aro: CoE in Integrative Photosynthesis and Bioactive Compound Research at Systems Biology Level
  • Aarne Halme: CoE in Generic Intelligent Machines Research
  • Howard Jacobs: CoE in Research on Mitochondrial Disease and Ageing
  • Sirpa Jalkanen: CoE in Host Defence Research
  • Juhani Knuuti: CoE in Molecular Imaging in Cardiovascular and Metabolic Research
  • Simo Knuuttila: CoE in Philosophical Psychology, Morality and Politics
  • Markku Kulmala: CoE in Physics, Chemistry, Biology and Meteorology of Atmospheric Composition and Climate Change
  • Antti Kupiainen: CoE in Analysis and Dynamics Research
  • Hannu Nurmi: CoE in Public Choice Research
  • Airi Palva: CoE in Microbial Food Safety Research
  • Merja Penttilä: CoE in White Biotechnology – Green Chemistry Research
  • Jarl B. Rosenholm: CoE in Functional Materials
  • Antti Räisänen: CoE in Smart Radios and Wireless Research
  • Mart Saarma: CoE in Molecular and Integrative Neuroscience Research
  • Petri Toiviainen: CoE in Interdisciplinary Music Research
  • Kaarlo Tuori: CoE in Foundations of European Law and Polity Research
  • Esko Ukkonen: CoE in Algorithmic Data Analysis Research
  • Seppo Ylä-Herttuala: CoE in Cardiovascular Diseases and Type 2 Diabetes Research

Do you have questions or feedback for us?