CoE Programme 2000–2005

Centres of Excellence 2000–2005

Within the first CoE Programme (2000–2005), the Academy funded 26 CoEs and seven core facility organisations. The Academy’s funding contribution was 54.8 million euros, while Tekes contributed 10.8 million euros.

  • Rauno Alatalo: Evolutionary Ecology
  • Kari Alitalo: Programme in Cancer Biology
  • Jaakko Astola: Signal Processing Algorithm Group (SPAG)
  • Dennis Bamford: Programme on Structural Virology
  • Yrjö Engeström: Center for Activity Theory and Developmental Work Research
  • Jaakko Frösén: Ancient and Medieval Greek Documents, Archives and Libraries
  • Ilkka Hanski: Metapopulation Research Group
  • Mikko Hupa: Åbo Akademi University Process Chemistry Group
  • Sirpa Jalkanen: Cell Surface Receptors in Inflammation and Malignancies
  • Kimmo Kaski: Research Centre for Computational Science and Engineering
  • Seppo Kellomäki: Research Unit for Forest Ecology and Management
  • Terttu Nevalainen: Research Unit for Variation and Change in English
  • Risto Nieminen: Computational Condensed-matter and Complex Materials Research Unit (COMP)
  • Erkki Oja: New Information Processing Principles
  • Mikko Paalanen: Low Temperature Laboratory: Physics and Brain Research Units
  • Tapio Palva: Plant Molecular Biology and Forest Biotechnology Research Unit
  • Leena Peltonen-Palotie: Centre of Excellence in Disease Genetics
  • Taina Pihlajaniemi: Molecular Biology and Pathology of Collagens and Enzymes of Collagen Biosynthesis
  • Lea Pulkkinen: The Human Development and Its Risk Factors Programme
  • Heikki Rauvala: Programme of Molecular Neurobiology
  • Heikki Räisänen: Research Unit on the Formation of Early Jewish and Christian Ideology
  • Hans Söderlund: Technical Research Centre of Finland, Industrial Biotechnology
  • Pertti Törmälä, Seppo Santavirta and Yrjö Konttinen: Tissue Engineering and Medical, Dental and Veterinary Biomaterial Research Group
  • Mårten Wikström: Helsinki Bioenergetics Group
  • Matti Vilenius: Institute of Hydraulics and Automation (IHA)
  • Juha Äystö and Matti Manninen: Nuclear and Condensed Matter Physics Programme at JYFL

Do you have questions or feedback for us?