

## Preparatory group for applications submitted to call for Finnish Centres of Excellence 2026-2033

A preparatory group composed of members of RCF decision-making bodies was set up to process the applications reviewed in the call for the Finnish Centre of Excellence programme 2026-2033. The task of the group is to examine the applications and the scientific review reports issued on them against the objectives of the programme. The work of the preparatory group supports the work of the RCF General Subcommittee, that is, the decision-making body. The term of office of the preparatory group is 1 January-31 December 2025.

The preparatory group was formed with members of the RCF's scientific councils and the Strategic Research Council.

## **Members:**

- Professor Lauri Savioja (chair), Scientific Council for Natural Sciences and Engineering
- Professor Kalle Pajunen (vice chair), Scientific Council for Social Sciences and Humanities
- Professor Vesa Hytönen, Scientific Council for Biosciences, Health and the Environment
- Professor liro Jääskeläinen, Scientific Council for Biosciences, Health and the Environment
- Professor Pigga Keskitalo, Strategic Research Council
- Professor Leena Kolehmainen, Scientific Council for Social Sciences and Humanities
- Research Director Annakaisa Korja, Scientific Council for Natural Sciences and Engineering
- Professor Markku Lehtimäki, Scientific Council for Social Sciences and Humanities
- Professor Eva Pongracz, Strategic Research Council
- Professor Maija Tenkanen, Scientific Council for Biosciences, Health and the Environment
- Professor Teemu Turunen-Saaresti, Scientific Council for Natural Sciences and Engineering