Research councils

There are four research councils at the Academy of Finland. They each carry out the Academy's tasks within their respective field.  According to the proposed Government Decree on the Academy of Finland, the Academy will have three research councils instead of four as of 1 January 2019. Because of this change, we have revised the research fields of the research councils to correspond to the new research council model.

The Finnish Government appoints a chair and a maximum of ten members for each research council for a three-year term. Care is taken to ensure that the research councils represent versatile scientific expertise of a high standard.

Before appointing the members, the Ministry of Education, Science and Culture hears universities, government research institutes, public authorities and corporate bodies representing research and development, as well as major scientific societies and science academies.

Last modified 27 Feb 2018
Connect with us
Facebook Slideshare Twitter Youtube
SWITCHBOARD +358 295 335 000
REGISTRY +358 295 335 049
FAX +358 295 335 299
OFFICE HOURS Mon–Fri 8.00–16.15