34 applications go through to second stage of Centre of Excellence call

10 Mar 2017

The Academy of Finland has decided to invite 34 applications to the second stage of the Centre of Excellence call for the 2018–2025 CoE programme.

The first call stage, which was open in April 2016, attracted 179 letters of intent. After the first-stage review, 34 applications were selected to proceed to the second stage. The applicants will now submit full applications, which will be reviewed by international panels of experts. Representatives of the candidate units will also be interviewed at the Academy.

The aim of the Academy of Finland’s CoE programmes is to strengthen Finnish research by raising its level, contributing to its regeneration and promoting its societal impact. A Centre of Excellence is a research community that is already at rather than striving for the international cutting edge of research in its field. CoEs may consist of one or more research teams working closely together under one joint research plan.

The Finnish CoE programme can contribute to the renewal of science by supplying new research teams, new research topics, and new methods and approaches. Thanks to the long-term funding provided in collaboration with CoE host organisations, the funding instrument effectively works as an incentive for risk-taking and new initiatives in research. CoEs should help implement the research strategies of their host organisations. In addition, they should effectively use and develop research infrastructures.

The selection criteria are based on the international reviews and the objectives of the programmes. In this round, the review focused on high-quality research, breakthrough potential and science renewal. In addition, the reviewers paid attention to the units’ potential to rise to or stay at the international cutting edge of research, the impact of the research beyond academia, and to the units’ potential to regenerate Finnish science.

The Centres of Excellence are jointly funded by the Academy of Finland, universities, research institutes and business companies. Funding is also made available through other sources. The Academy of Finland has funded Centres of Excellence since 1995.

CoE applications selected to the second call stage (director and organisations involved):

  • Aaltonen Lauri, University of Helsinki, Finnish Cancer Registry, University of Tampere
  • Haapala Pertti, University of Tampere
  • Hollanti Camilla, Aalto University
  • Holma Juha, University of Jyväskylä
  • Jokinen Ari, University of Jyväskylä
  • Kantola Johanna, University of Helsinki
  • Katajisto Pekka, University of Helsinki
  • Kellomäki Minna, Tampere University of Technology, University of Tampere
  • Klabbers Jan, University of Helsinki
  • Koivurova Timo, University of Lapland
  • Kröger Teppo, University of Jyväskylä, University of Tampere, University of Helsinki
  • Lahesmaa Riitta, University of Turku, University of Helsinki, Aalto University, University of Tampere
  • Lamberg Juha-Antti, University of Jyväskylä, Aalto University
  • Lassas Matti, University of Helsinki, Aalto University, Finnish Meteorological Institute, Lappeenranta University of Technology, Tampere University of Technology, University of Eastern Finland, University of Jyväskylä, University of Oulu
  • Lowe Gregory, University of Tampere
  • Miestamo Matti, University of Helsinki
  • Mäki Uskali, University of Helsinki, University of Tampere
  • Mäyrä Frans, University of Tampere, University of Jyväskylä, University of Turku
  • Negri Sara, University of Helsinki
  • Palmroth Minna, Finnish Meteorological Institute, Aalto University, University of Turku, University of Helsinki
  • Pekola Jukka, Aalto University, VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland Ltd, University of Turku
  • Peräkylä Anssi, University of Helsinki
  • Pihlajamäki Heikki, University of Helsinki, University of Turku
  • Primmer Craig, University of Turku
  • Ripatti Samuli, University of Helsinki
  • Salmivalli Christina, University of Turku
  • Svärd Saana, University of Helsinki
  • Torstila Sami, Aalto University
  • Tuhkuri Jukka, Aalto University
  • Tuori Kaius, University of Helsinki, Åbo Akademi University
  • Turunen Esa, University of Oulu, Finnish Meteorological Institute, Aalto University
  • Törmä Päivi, Aalto University, University of Jyväskylä
  • Urtti Arto, University of Helsinki, University of Eastern Finland, University of Tampere
  • Österbacka Ronald, Åbo Akademi University, University of Turku

The second-stage deadline for applications is 1 February 2017. All call documents are available on the Academy’s website under Centres of Excellence.

More information

  • Riitta Maijala, Vice President for Research, Academy of Finland, tel. +358 295 335 002, firstname.lastname(at)
  • Science Adviser Maiju Gyran, tel. +358 295 335 015, firstname.lastname(at)
  • CoE application process

Academy of Finland Communications
Vesa Varpula
Communications Specialist
tel. +358 295 335 131

Last modified 10 Mar 2017
Connect with us
Facebook  Twitter YoutubeLinkedInSlideshare
SWITCHBOARD +358 295 335 000
REGISTRY +358 295 335 049
FAX +358 295 335 299
OFFICE HOURS Mon–Fri 8.00–16.15