Academy of Finland designated 14 new Centres of Excellence in Research


The Board of the Academy of Finland has selected the Centres of Excellence in Research (CoE) for the 2014‒2019 CoE programme. The new CoE programme will consist of 14 units, involving research teams from twelve universities or research institutes. The Academy has reserved a total of EUR 45 million for the first three years of the six-year programme term. The funding negotiations for the new CoEs will be held in autumn 2013.

“The units selected to the new CoE programme represent the international cutting edge of research in their respective fields. The Academy believes that the new CoEs have great potential to achieve significant breakthroughs in their research and be successful in the competition for EU funding and international researchers, for instance,” says Marja Makarow, Vice President for Research at the Academy of Finland.

The Academy’s CoE call attracted a total of 128 letters of intent, of which the Academy’s Board selected 34 to submit full applications. These applications were reviewed by international expert panels. Unit representatives were also interviewed at the Academy.

CoEs are the flagships of Finnish research. They are at the very cutting edge of science in their fields, carving out new avenues for research, developing creative research environments and training new talented researchers for Finnish society and business and industry.

A Centre of Excellence is a research and training network that has a clearly defined set of research objectives and is run under a joint management. Funding is provided for a six-year term, which means that CoEs can work to long-term plans and even take risks. CoEs are jointly funded by the Academy of Finland, universities, research institutes, the private business sector and many other sources. The Academy has funded CoEs since 1995.

Centres of Excellence 2014–2019 (director, name of centre, coordinating university, other parties)

  • Alitalo, Kari: Centre of Excellence in Translational Cancer Biology, University of Helsinki (UH)
    Other parties: University of Turku (UTU)/Sirpa Jalkanen, Institute for Molecular Medicine Finland (FIMM)/Olli Kallioniemi
  • Aro, Eva-Mari: Centre of Excellence in Molecular Biology of Primary Producers, UTU
    Other parties: UH
  • Hyyppä, Juha: Centre of Excellence in Laser Scanning Research, Finnish Geodetic Institute
    Other parties: UH, University of Oulu (UO), Aalto University (AU)
  • Ikkala, Olli: Centre of Excellence in Molecular Engineering of Biosynthetic Hybrid Materials Research, AU
    Other parties: VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland
  • Ikonen, Elina: Centre of Excellence in Biomembrane Research: From Lipid-Protein Interactions to Functions, UH
    Other parties: Tampere University of Technology (TUT)
  • Jacobs, Howard: Centre of Excellence in Research on Mitochondria, Metabolism and Disease, University of Tampere (UTA)
    Other parties: UH
  • Jernvall, Jukka: Centre of Excellence in Experimental and Computational Developmental Biology Research, UH
  • Knuuti, Juhani: Centre of Excellence in Cardiovascular and Metabolic Disease, UTU
    Other parties: University of Eastern Finland (UEF)
  • Kulmala, Markku: Centre of Excellence in Atmospheric Science – From Molecular and Biological Processes to the Global Climate, UH
    Other parties: UEF, Finnish Meteorological Institute (FMI)
  • Kupiainen, Antti: Centre of Excellence in Analysis and Dynamics Research, UH
    Other parties: UO, University of Jyväskylä (UJ)
  • Mursula, Kalevi: Centre of Excellence in Research on Solar Long-Term Variability and Effects, UO
    Other parties: UH, FMI
  • Nissinen, Martti: Changes in Sacred Texts and Traditions, UH
  • Paasi, Anssi: Centre of Excellence in Research on the Relational and Territorial Politics of Bordering,  Identities and Transnationalisation, UO
    Other parties: UTA
  • Saarinen, Risto: Centre of Excellence in Reason and Religious Recognition Research, UH

More information:

  • Vice President for Research Marja Makarow, Academy of Finland, tel. +358 29 533 5002, firstname.lastname(at)
  • Science Adviser Maiju Gyran, Academy of Finland, tel. +358 29 533 5015, firstname.lastname(at)

Contact details for CoE directors:

  • Academy Professor Kari Alitalo, UH, tel. +358 50 500 3572, kari.alitalo(at)
  • Professor Eva-Mari Aro, UTU, tel. +358 2 333 5931, evaaro(at)
  • Professor Juha Hyyppä, Finnish Geodetic Institute, tel. +358 9 2955 5306, juha.hyyppa(at)
  • Academy Professor Olli Ikkala, AU, tel. +358 50 410 0454, olli.ikkala(at)
  • Academy Professor Elina Ikonen, UH, tel. +358 9 191 25277, elina.ikonen(at)
  • Academy Professor Howard Jacobs, UTA, tel. +358 50 341 2894, howard.t.jacobs(at)
  • Academy Professor Jukka Jernvall, UH, tel. +358 9 191 59352, jukka.jernvall(at)
  • Professor Juhani Knuuti, UTU, tel. +358 500 592 998, juhani.knuuti(at)
  • Academy Professor Markku Kulmala, UH, tel. +358 9 191 50756, markku.kulmala(at)
  • Academy Professor Antti Kupiainen, UH, tel. +358 9 191 51460, antti.kupiainen(at)
  • Professor Kalevi Mursula, UO, tel. +358 400 688365, kalevi.mursula(at)
  • Professor Martti Nissinen, UH, tel. +358 9 191 24012, martti.nissinen(at)
  • Professor Antti Paasi, UO, tel. +358 29 448 1703, anssi.paasi(at)
  • Professor Risto Saarinen, UH, tel. +358 9 191 22510, risto.saarinen(at)



Academy of Finland Communications
Communications Manager Riitta Tirronen
tel. +358 29 533 5118


Connect with us
Facebook  Twitter YoutubeLinkedInSlideshare
SWITCHBOARD +358 295 335 000
REGISTRY +358 295 335 049
FAX +358 295 335 299
OFFICE HOURS Mon–Fri 8.00–16.15