Strategic Research Council

The Strategic Research Council (SRC) at the Academy of Finland provides funding to long-term and programme-based research aimed at finding solutions to the major challenges facing Finnish society.


  • Research Director Per Mickwitz (Finnish Environment Institute)

Vice Chair: 

  • Professor, Academician of Science Irma Thesleff (University of Helsinki)


  • Senior Vice President Jaakko Kiander (Ilmarinen Mutual Pension Insurance Company)
  • Professor Emeritus Sixten Korkman (Aalto University)
  • Academician Markku Kulmala (University of Helsinki)
  • Director Petra Lundström (Fortum Corporation)
  • Professor Juho Saari (University of Tampere)
  • Professor Katariina Salmela-Aro (University of Jyväskylä)
  • Vice President Leena Sarvaranta (VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland)

The projects to be funded are selected by the SRC. The SRC is also responsible for project follow-up and impact assessment. The projects are selected based on a review of their scientific quality, societal relevance and impact. The main themes of SRC research programmes are decided by the Finnish Government.

The SRC consists of eight members and a chair appointed by the Government for a three-year term, with a possible extension of a further three-year term.

Read more about strategic research funding.

Last modified 10 Apr 2017
Connect with us
Facebook Slideshare Twitter Youtube
SWITCHBOARD +358 295 335 000
REGISTRY +358 295 335 049
FAX +358 295 335 299
OFFICE HOURS Mon–Fri 8.00–16.15