Helsinki 8 June 2010

Academy of Finland appoints nine new Academy  Professors

Helsinki 8 June 2010

The Board of the Academy of Finland has appointed nine new Academy Professors. They are Professors Moncef Gabbouj (Tampere University of Technology), Markku Kulmala (University of Helsinki), Markku Laakso (University of Eastern Finland), Craig Primmer (University of Turku), Tuija Pulkkinen (University of Helsinki), Jukka Seppälä (Aalto University), Kaarlo Tuori (University of Helsinki), Willem de Vos (University of Helsinki) and Seppo Ylä-Herttuala (University of Eastern Finland).

The new Academy Professors’ term of office runs from 1 January 2011 to 31 December 2015. Four of the Academy Professors are based at the University of Helsinki, two at the University of Eastern Finland, and one each at Aalto University, Tampere University of Technology and the University of Turku.

At the start of June there were altogether 41 Academy Professors. Appointees shall have demonstrated excellence in research and contributed to the development of their field as a whole. Academy Professors are in the employ of their respective university.

A more detailed presentation of each new Academy Professor is available on the Academy website at (Academy of Finland > Who we are > Academy Professors), in a separate press release: “Academy of Finland appoints nine new Academy Professors, 8 June 2010”.

More information: Markku Mattila, President, tel. +358 9 7748 8210, and Riitta Mustonen, Vice President (Research), tel. +358 9 7748 8220

Academy of Finland Communications
Communications Director Maj-Lis Tanner
tel. +358 9 7748 8347, +358 40 729 6736

Connect with us
Facebook Slideshare Twitter Youtube
SWITCHBOARD +358 295 335 000
REGISTRY +358 295 335 049
FAX +358 295 335 299
OFFICE HOURS Mon–Fri 8.00–16.15