Academy President Markku Mattila elected as ESF Vice President

Professor Markku Mattila, President of the Academy of Finland, and Professor João Sentieiro, President of the Foundation for Science and Technology (FCT) in Portugal, have been elected as Vice Presidents of the European Science Foundation (ESF) for the term 2011–2013. President of the ESF is Professor Ian Halliday from the UK. 

Established in 1974, the European Science Foundation is an association of some 80 Member Organisations from 30 countries. The Member Organisations are agencies funding basic research and academies of sciences in ESF member states. The Finnish Member Organisations are the Academy of Finland and the Delegation of the Finnish Academies of Science and Letters, which is a national cooperative body for Finnish learned societies operating in connection with the Federation of Finnish Learned Societies. The ESF promotes collaboration in scientific research in Europe, bringing together researchers from different countries through workshops, conferences and research programmes. It also develops strategic science advice for Europe. The ESF is an independent organisation whose activities are mainly financed by its Member Organisations.

Academy of Finland Communications
Communications Specialist Maj-Lis Tanner
tel. +358 (0)9 7748 8347, +358 (0)40 729 6736

Connect with us
Facebook Slideshare Twitter Youtube
SWITCHBOARD +358 295 335 000
REGISTRY +358 295 335 049
FAX +358 295 335 299
OFFICE HOURS Mon–Fri 8.00–16.15